The Beauty of CPUs

I recently salvaged a couple of old CPUs from some Dell computers which CompSoc was taking apart – they would otherwise have either been left around or, even worse, been thrown away and ended up in a landfill, contributing to the UK’s waste problems. Unfortunately I doubt either of them still work owing to the brutal way in which we at CompSoc treated them during extraction (We didn’t have screwdrivers so brute force was the next best thing) so intend to use them as decoration. However, being me, I couldn’t resist taking some photos of the things before drilling holes for keyring creation.

CPUs are actually very interesting subjects for photos, especially the pins on the underside. The first time I took (ripped) out a CPU, I was amazed by the sheer neatness and beauty of the hyper-regular arrangement of the pins: not a single one is out of line, giving the entire spectacle a certain geometric magnificence; I can see myself spending many happy [seconds] in the future pointing cameras at upturned CPUs playing with focal depth. What an action-packed life I live.

One Response to The Beauty of CPUs

  1. Matt George says:

    Wonderful photo to better illustrate for the post. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

