LED Art

I’m not much of an artist, I’ll admit that much. But having an interest in photography (especially in macro and long-exposure), I find ideas like drawing with very long exposure and a torch irresistible. Lifehacker (well, one of my RSS feeds) featured it some time ago under the name of ‘light doodling’. Since I’ve had some time recently I grabbed a nearby single-LED torch and started messing around with a 15″ exposure – here are my results.

Everyone has to start somewhere

Everyone has to start somewhere...

Maths made (even) cooler

Maths made (even) 'cooler'

It had to be done

It had to be done

Then I found a laser pointer. Im sure theres very cool stuff to do with lasers and long exposure but I prefer the floating in space effect of LED torches.

Then I found a laser pointer. I'm sure there's very cool stuff to do with lasers and long exposure but I prefer the 'floating in space' effect of LED torches.

Random stuff with an old speaker

Random stuff with an old speaker

Lascannon camera flash... Again, it had to be done

Lascannon camera flash... Again, it had to be done

Argh it burns! I did this by tracing around my hand with the LED torch and scattering was responsible for the whole fire effect. I didnt actually know what was going to happen so this came as something of a surprise to me...

Argh it burns! I did this by tracing around my hand with the LED torch and scattering was responsible for the whole fire effect. I didn't actually know what was going to happen so this came as something of a surprise to me...

Most of this is just me playing around with an LED torch to see what kind of awesome effects someone else (i.e. someone who is actually vaguely skilful in terms of motor skills and artistic talent) might be able to do. So sorry if my horrific ‘art’ makes you cry… But the whole idea of it is quite ingenious, taking long-exposure traffic photos to a new level.

All of these are hosted on Flickr – I hope their policy on hotlinking is not too draconian. Talking of which, my Flickr Photostream is publicly available for whoever wants to follow my photographic stream of consciousness…

6 Responses to LED Art

  1. Adolph says:

    ‘cool?’ didn’t you know that led torch was made in CHINA and so the money went DIRECTLY TO FUNDING COMMUNISM HOW CAN YOU FIND THAT ‘COOL’ YOU COMMY PIECE OF SHIT. DIE IN HELL!

  2. Brent says:

    Funny that you would call me, of all people in the world, a commie.

    Thanks for the laugh…

  3. JH says:

    lol adolph

    awesome pics, bryant

  4. Oli (the real spelling) says:

    Very nice indeed – was pic 6 the only one done with a pointer?

  5. Bryant Tan says:

    Yep you’re right, the laser pointer was only used once – I much preferred the whole image of floating light trails rather than what always ended up (for me at least) looking more like glow-in-the-dark graffiti…

Leave a Reply

